• March 29Blue Banner, newspaper and website, are due January 15.
  • March 23Golden Dozen deadline is November 15.
  • March 23Best Story Contest entries are due January 15.


Site for the Southern Illinois School Press Association



Adviser Awards

Dr. Manion Rice Advisers of the Year Award

Dr. Rice was active in the Southern Illinois Student Press Association, Mid-America Press Institute and the Obelisk, the university yearbook.  He was especially beloved by SISPA, which honored him a few years ago.

Dr. Rice was born in Eldorado, Il. in 1922.  After a decade as an editor and ad manager at a series of small papers – from Shelbina, Mo. to Kennett Square, Pa. to Arcola, Il and Union, Mo. – he came to SIU as an assistant professor in 1959.  He got his Phd from SIU in 1967 and was promoted to associate professor in 1969.  He taught publicity, advertising, high school journalism, community news and other subjects.  He served as director of SISPA until just before Walter Jaehnig took over in 1987.

In addition, Dr. Rice was director for five years of the Journalism Education Administration Workshop for college teachers and administrators in journalism. He also ran the American Penal Press Contest.

Nominations for this award can be made in two ways.  First, an adviser can nominate a candidate for each category. Secondly, nominations can be made by students who would like to nominate their newspaper or yearbook adviser.  Each staff can make one nomination.

Nominations are reviewed in committee, and a final winner is then determined.

To apply, fill out the nomination form .

William Recktenwald Friend of Scholastic Journalism Award

Just as the Illinois Journalism Education Association recognized Mr. Recktenwald or his commitment to scholastic journalism, so SISPA recognizes those who contribute to healthy scholastic journalism by supporting students and advisers.

Mr. William Recktenwald came to SIUC in 1999 after a successful career in investigative journalism. As a professor, he was beloved by colleagues and students, and he worked tirelessly with the Southern Illinois School Press Association to promote and recognize journalistic excellence among the students in member schools. He was a presenter, a judge for both on-site and mail-in contests, and was involved with the summer journalism programs hosted by SIUC.

Nominations for this award should be made for those who fulfill  any of the following criteria.

• recognizing and promoting the rights of students to free speech as they work as student journalists
• encouraging high standards by student staffs, teachers through training or professional partnerships
• providing professional or financial support beyond the purchase of advertisement in school publications

To make a nomination, contact Cathy Wall.

List of past winners